Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Art supplies for a Brazilian friend?

Hello, I'm Rebecca. Born in the USA, I've lived in Brazil most my life and I'm a Visual Arts student at the Federal University in Natal, RN. I'll be attending my first Urban Sketching activity in Paraty soon.

Here in Brazil it's somewhat difficult to find quality and variety of sketching and art supplies, because there isn't a lot of demand for fancy things, so usually we only have access to a very limited array of brands (I'm not even going into how expensive they are when they do become available). So how I get my interesting materials is that every time a friend of mine goes abroad, I ask them to bring me a little this or that, so I can collect up! (pencils, sketchbooks, ink, that kind of thing)

So here's my idea: since a lot of people are coming from other places, and probably won't be coming with heavy luggage (a problem I have when asking people to bring me stuff is that often their bags are already too full of purchases), maybe someone could offer some of their luggage space to sneak in a few art supplies for a Brazilian artist?

I have a few things in mind I want, and if anyone is willing to help me, that would be really amazing. I thought I'd share this here because there might be other Brazilians, like me, interested as well. Let's see if this ship sails.

Can't wait to meet you all; cheers!

Comments

• I was thinking the same thing, but I was kind of ashamed to ask. It is really difficult and expensive to buy art supplies here...so if anyone wants to help, I would greatly appreciate. Just to give an example: my husband bought for me this pen set on the US: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004QHI43S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1. It costed in total US 18. Here in Brazil I never found the set, just single pens and each one cost 6 dollars, so it would be 48 dollars for the same thing.